Hope Springs Eternal

Dragonflies and change August 31, 2008

Filed under: autumn,CSA,haiku,summer — clutterlibrarian @ 5:05 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Dragonfly on a rock-

absorbed in

a daydream

~ Santoka

So happy about my move to WordPress. It’s pretty here.

Change is in the air in so many ways- I started working part time, the kids are about to go back to school and the air tastes and feels of Autumn. The veggie bounty continues to flow from our CSA, Growing Wild Farms. The first local tomatoes arrived and it is heaven! Tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, and basil- what more do you need?

vegtable bounty from Growing Wild Farms

vegtable bounty from Growing Wild Farm

For one thing, a nice cat. Tommie moved in with us- friends found him and he needed a home. He is a real sweetheart- we all love him- well, except our older cat.

For another thing, Dragonflies. August is their month. We have been enjoying these wonderful creatures as they fly around the garden. They- unlike most insects- seem to look at you. One day I was standing in the garden and a reddish dragonfly was flying around me. I put out my hand and it landed on my thumb! Just this past week, I found the most beautiful book on dragonflies at the library. A Dazzle of Dragonflies by Mitchell and Lasswell– it is stunning! The scans of the dragonflies are amazingly detailed and there is information on both the natural and folkloric history of dragonflies.

I’m starting to think about making crafts again, but there is still much to do outside. Stay tuned.

 

5 Responses to “Dragonflies and change”

  1. Heather Hawkes Says:

    I will follow you everywhere. LOL
    I just love the CSA. It is way past tomato time here. LOL Lots of squash and ocra (sp).
    ahhh autumn. Still so many months away for me. enjoy your lovely season! 🙂

    Heather

  2. clutterlibrarian Says:

    Heather~ Awww, thanks! Lovely to see you here! We are getting just a bit of okra- it’s so yummy breaded and fried. We have had such a cool summer- I was wearing flannels to bed last night! *)

  3. greenlee Says:

    Hi Tommie! It’s nice to meet you! What a cutie! 🙂

  4. Heather Hawkes Says:

    Ok, so my super secret news that I can’t yet blog about is… we are moving to Maine. We just aren’t ready for family to know about it, and occationally they read my blog. LOL
    I am working my fanny off every weekend so we can get the money together. LOL But I am so happy and excited. I have wanted to do this for years and finally dh is on the same page. Yippee!

  5. Diane Says:

    Heather~

    That is so exciting! I am very happy for you! How wonderful to be able to work together to follow your dream. 😀


Leave a Reply

