Hope Springs Eternal

Music for the new year January 13, 2009

Filed under: books,music,Twilight — clutterlibrarian @ 7:52 pm

january-2005-036

Ahhh, back to the normal rain. I really think I was meant to live here. I don’t mind the rain and the grey clouds and the fog. Our house, in it’s hallow like the back of the earth’s knee, is often blanketed in fog. I think of this as my rest time behind the misty veil (romantic enough for you?).

So, I’ve been reading and being lazy. Yes, I’ve continued reading the Twilight series- quite happily (I thought Eclipse was quite fun) until I began Breaking Dawn and her plot twist totally turned me off. So- I put aside that book and started another (The Sacred Book of the Werewolf by Victor Pelevin). My husband always wonders how I can just leave off a book- shut and toss it aside without finishing it. As I always tell him, life is short and there are many, many books to read!

Running has been my only non-lazy activity. I’ve been loving some new music while I run: The Crane Wife by the Decemberists and Andorra by Caribou.  It is a goal of mine to bring more music into my life- to cultivate that elation that a good song can bring to your heart and soul. I will listen to more music this year. I will sing more this year. I will dance more. I will invite people to our home to play music and sing under the full moon! (For more on music and the effects of the body and mind, see here and here.)

 

5 Responses to “Music for the new year”

  1. Heather Says:

    i just read the reviews of that book. it sounds really interesting. how do you like it so far?

  2. jumbleberryjam Says:

    I didn’t know you were a runner! How fun 🙂 I used to be, but I’ve lapsed. Hoping to get back into my running shoes soon (I’m walking right now to work up to it – I’m way out of shape).

    My sister loves the Decemberists…really must check them out :-).

    Your lazy days sound lovely. I sure hope to have them again one day!

  3. Diane Says:

    JumbleB~ I still giggle at the thought of being a “runner”. Honestly, I’ve always been the person who couldn’t run fifty yards without getting a stich in my side. But a year ago December when I was in my last-and most grueling semester of grad school-the stress set me out on the road. I jogged and walked, jogged and walked. I jog about a half an hour 3 or 4 times a week and man o man it makes me feel much more sane!

    Lazy=good- Yes, if you ask me. No, if you ask my hubby.

    Decemberists~ catchy as hell. I might hate them in a month, not sure.

    Heather~ which book? The Sacred Book of the Werewolf? I do like it- it’s weird but in an intellectual way. It’s easy to read, but it doesn’t make me feel like a mental teenager! 😀 I love Russian writers (Chekov and Bulgakov), so it doesn’t surprise me that it works for me in that funny, ironic Russian way.

  4. Heather Says:

    Yes the Sacred Book of the Werewolf.
    Maybe running would be good for me too. My brain is too full of stuff, maybe running would be good for that. LOL

  5. Diane Says:

    H~ It’s an odd book- a bit dark- a bit intellectual. I’m enjoying it.

    Running- maybe it would help. It has helped me with my night time anxiety. Stress and worry was just building up inside me and when I run, I feel like I am slamming my stress out on the pavement. I listen to music when I run and that really energizes me. It’s hard to run on icy, snowy roads though!


Leave a Reply

