Hope Springs Eternal

Spring is on it’s way February 20, 2009

Filed under: books,compost,eggs,hellebore,my garden,Neruda,spring — clutterlibrarian @ 8:08 pm

I want to do with you what spring does with the cherry trees.

~ Pablo Neruda

february-2008-175

There are some sweet signals that spring is coming our way- bulbs beginning to grow, swelling of buds on some shrubs, nettles growing with their dark green still soft leaves and grass growing with that fresh green color that gives you hope. The Hellebore win the honor of being the first blooms of the season. Right around Candlemas, the hennies began to lay eggs again. Hurrah!

The weather has been fine here for several days and I have been working on a new and improved composting area. It occurred to me that my neighbor has two horses that can supply me with free manure with which to make some very fine compost. After getting the book The Complete Compost Gardening Guide out of the library, I decided it was so good that I would buy a copy. It has wonderful and easy ideas of making and using compost. I plan to try vermicomposting again- I just found a local vermiculture business!

And, finally, because Neruda is so lusty- so full of the spirit of spring- another poem:

Sonnet XI

I crave your mouth, your voice, your hair.
Silent and starving, I prowl through the streets.
Bread does not nourish me, dawn disrupts me, all day
I hunt for the liquid measure of your steps.

I hunger for your sleek laugh,
your hands the color of a savage harvest,
hunger for the pale stones of your fingernails,
I want to eat your skin like a whole almond.

I want to eat the sunbeam flaring in your lovely body,
the sovereign nose of your arrogant face,
I want to eat the fleeting shade of your lashes,

and I pace around hungry, sniffing the twilight,
hunting for you, for your hot heart,
like a puma in the barrens of Quitratue.

Pablo Neruda


 

6 Responses to “Spring is on it’s way”

  1. jumbleberryjam Says:

    What a sensuous poem! Thank you!! And best of luck to you on the composting. I gave up gardening last year, but hope to pick it up again in a few years when DS will be more of a helper. Vermicompost is very high on my list of “to dos” next time I tinker in the soil :-).

  2. heather hawkes Says:

    what a sexy poem. what a lovey flower.
    i am so hungry for spring. and i have been waitng and waiting for a new entry from you. 🙂
    hey guess what i did? i broke my arm! i slipped on ice! ack

    heather

  3. clutterlibrarian Says:

    Thank you both for your comments! It is hard to garden with a wee one. My girls are 4 and 8, so they will play while I work/play. I got four wheelbarrow loads of aged horse poo from our neighbors this afternoon and started a (hopefully) hot compost pile.

    Awww, Heather! No- I’m sorry! That must stink.I hope you heal well. I’m sorry it has been so long since I posted, but I’ve not been doing much beside laying under a blanket reading (which is not a bad way to spend January but not much to blog about). I feel like I am moving out of hibernation. Your spring will come and it will be all the more glorious for the wait- like sex…Spring=Sex to me I guess! *<;o)

  4. Neruda’s poems are truly peerless in their raw expression of love and lust. If you really like Neruda, check out Red Poppy at http://www.redpoppy.net/pablo_neruda.php. It’s a non-profit set up to create a documentary about Neruda, publish his biography, and translate his works into English. To see our blog on Neruda’s literary activism, click on “Journal.”

  5. clutterlibrarian Says:

    Thanks, Katia- I’ll check that out!

  6. heather hawkes Says:

    ok… i need some new stuff to read! LOL


Leave a Reply

